ADS-B "IN" not working?

Sportsman7064

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2010
Messages
101
Location
Clinton, AR
I was on a cross-country flight over the weekend from CT to AR and throughout the flight (in severe clear) the ADS-B seemed not to be getting the IN information for either traffic or weather. No radar "age" (red blanks), no TAFs or METARs for airports ahead. I've not seen this before... Is there a way to check the status/health of the ADS-B IN module? I got no other error messages. Thanks!
 

Attachments

Raymo

I love aviation!
Joined
Apr 25, 2016
Messages
711
Location
Richmond Hill, GA
No Radar = no triggering of ground station sending of wx or traffic. You'd only see traffic if they had OUT and were near enough to receive / display.
 

djones

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2010
Messages
71
I was on a cross-country flight over the weekend from CT to AR and throughout the flight (in severe clear) the ADS-B seemed not to be getting the IN information for either traffic or weather. No radar "age" (red blanks), no TAFs or METARs for airports ahead. I've not seen this before... Is there a way to check the status/health of the ADS-B IN module? I got no other error messages. Thanks!
If you go into setup there is an ADSB menu that has all the info you need about status.

SETUP > ADSB STATUS

Also, just to be clear....if you are in contact with a ground station you will always get weather regardless of your ADSB Out Status. It would be nice to see the status screen in this case. If you haven't flown more than 1 hour since the flight, I can look at the diagnostic files to see what was going on.
 

Sportsman7064

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2010
Messages
101
Location
Clinton, AR
Sorry, Don, just got you response. I have flown for more than an hour since, but the condition remains. I'll swing by the hangar today and check the ADSB STATUS screen and pull the diagnostic files onto a thumb-drive...
 

Sportsman7064

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2010
Messages
101
Location
Clinton, AR
Just uploaded the file. Let me know what you think when you have a chance to look. Thanks!!
If you go into setup there is an ADSB menu that has all the info you need about status.

SETUP > ADSB STATUS

Also, just to be clear....if you are in contact with a ground station you will always get weather regardless of your ADSB Out Status. It would be nice to see the status screen in this case. If you haven't flown more than 1 hour since the flight, I can look at the diagnostic files to see what was going on.
Any thoughts on the data provided?

Thanks
 

djones

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2010
Messages
71
So this is likely going to need some equipment repair. If you can shoot me an e-mail at support@dynonavionics.com or call our
new support phone number 425-224-6736 we can set something up.
 

clippers7s

New Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2019
Messages
1
I was on a cross-country flight over the weekend from CT to AR and throughout the flight (in severe clear) the ADS-B seemed not to be getting the IN information for either traffic or weather. No radar "age" (red blanks), no TAFs or METARs for airports ahead. I've not seen this before... Is there a way to check the status/health of the ADS-B IN module? I got no other error messages. Thanks!
I am new to this forum. This may not be the correct format for posting - apology in advance. I am also not receiving ADS-B IN. I did receive the attached out report. From what I read my out is good. I will figure out how to download a diagnostic and post it - looking for any assistance.
 

Attachments

Top