Dynon and Avidyne IFD

kurtfly

I love flying!
Joined
Jun 21, 2014
Messages
214
Dynon,
When I was at Oshkosh, one of the Dynon employees mentioned you were planning some nice features that can be shared between SkyView and IFD? Any word on what/when it is planned?

I have a few suggestions:
Push flight plans between SkyView/IFD
Tune Com / Nav radio.
Share ADS-B products (weather / Traffic)


Avidyne currently has the ability to connect as a WiFi remote device on SkyView network. Only needs the options installed in skyview.
 

Corefile

Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2019
Messages
87
If I was going to prioritize those are the exact 3 I would want as well. It’s actually a little disappointing that Dynon does not already support these - starting to really question going Dynon route
 

Northernliving

I love flying!
Joined
Aug 26, 2017
Messages
16
I'm thinking of adding a GPS navigator to my Skyview system. It seems like there is a general dissatisfaction with the interoperability between something like the Garmin GNC 355 and Skyview. Dynon seems to push Avidyne pretty hard. Is there better communication between the Avidyne systems and Skyview than Garmin and Skyview?
 

kellym

I love flying!
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
265
I'm thinking of adding a GPS navigator to my Skyview system. It seems like there is a general dissatisfaction with the interoperability between something like the Garmin GNC 355 and Skyview. Dynon seems to push Avidyne pretty hard. Is there better communication between the Avidyne systems and Skyview than Garmin and Skyview?
Garmin makes their products not play well with non-Garmin products. I have GTN650 with my Skyview, and it does the basics just fine, but flight plan must be entered to 650. Also doesn't push frequencies, even though the Garmin SL30 does. Fuel flow communication is minimal to the Garmin, no sharing of ADS-B In products. Just a little less integrated, but not really limiting in how I fly.
 

kurtfly

I love flying!
Joined
Jun 21, 2014
Messages
214
Right now. I dont see any better integration between Skyview to Avidyne vs. Skview to Garmin. Just basic Nav data via ARINC 429. The Avidyne WiFi can be configured as a remote device on the Skyview network, so it is conceivable data can be shared between the two. But until code is written to look there???
I currently use Foreflight and FlyQ connected to this multi-vender WiFi network to see what can be used from both avionics. FlyQ will not see the Avidyne at all. It does get the ADS-B info just as normal on Skyview network. But it will not get or send a flight plan to Avidyne, only Skyview. ForeFlight sees both SkyView and Avidyne but communications are somewhat sketchy. It also receives ADS-B great from Skyview. But, it will only receive a flight plan from Avidyne if you use the "more", "devices", "connected avionics" pages to get flightplan data. ForeFlight has no way to select which device to push a flightplan; so, no way to send a flightplan to Avidyne.
I have contacted both Seattle Avionics (FlyQ) and ForeFlight regarding this limitation. I did not get any confidence from either this is an important fix as both products work as published if connected directly to each avionic exclusively. It just isn't designed to operate on an avionics network with several data sources. But it is not practicable to change networks in flight.
I have also used the IFD100 app on this multi-avionics network. It works equally good direct or multi-device network.
 

Northernliving

I love flying!
Joined
Aug 26, 2017
Messages
16
Thanks for your input, guys. That's helpful. I've read all I can and seems like it comes down to personal preference (Garmin vs Avidyne). Both appear to be very good units.
 

dougnlina

I love flying!
Joined
Mar 28, 2014
Messages
62
To Be clear, you CAN NOT? push a flight plan FROM the IFD TO skyview? I am asking because I have a fellow aviator who has the Garmon GNS 400 and he says he can push his flight plans from the Garmin to skyview. I have recently installed an IFD box and still I am only about 80% sure I have it all configured correctly...
 

DBRV10

Active Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2008
Messages
917
Location
Brisbane, Qld. Australia
To Be clear, you CAN NOT? push a flight plan FROM the IFD TO skyview? I am asking because I have a fellow aviator who has the Garmon GNS 400 and he says he can push his flight plans from the Garmin to skyview. I have recently installed an IFD box and still I am only about 80% sure I have it all configured correctly...

You do not PUSH it from the Garmin/Avidyne/Other Nav, the Skyview accepts the flight plan via ARINC 429. Simple as that. So a GNS400/430/530 or GTN650/750 etc all work fine, as does the IFD 540/440.

Pushing back the other way is a Garmin or Avidyne problem. Not sure when or if any of that will happen, although it could.

For me I just enter everything into the GTN, it is my primary nav. However when the GTN does not have the database item I want, I simply flick to SV nav and away I go.

This is not a big deal, just learn how to use what you have.
 

wilkersk

I love flying!
Joined
May 26, 2013
Messages
16
I need to resurrect this thread.

A buddy is telling me the shop he went to for a quote on his panel upgrade says the IFD440 has better integration with Skyview HDX than the GNC355. So, why is that?

It seems to me that with either, what you get is nav info driving the HSI via the ARINC429. What else is there?
 
Last edited:

Carl_Froehlich

Active Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
216
As been stated, it makes little difference between any of these TSO GPS IFR navigators playing well with the SkyView. The ARINC does the needed translation when flying using the flight plan, IFR approach or missed approach feed from the TSO Navigator, then displays it on the moving map, and HSI.

I put the GTN-650 in two dual screen SkyView planes and fly IFR most of the time. The new project will have dual SkyView displays, the GNC 355 and hopefully the Trig NAV/Comm. I’m hopeful the GNC 355 is a better box than the clunky GTN-650.

What would really be nice if Dynon would take this Trig NAV/Comm, put the Dynon label on it and modify the software to integrate with the SkyView network.

Carl
 

kurtfly

I love flying!
Joined
Jun 21, 2014
Messages
214
Once Avidyne version 10.3 is available it promises to allow the Skyview traffic and weather to transfer to the Avidyne screen via WiFi. This is the first time I am aware an IFR navigator that will accept weather or traffic from a WiFi source. The Avidyne 10.3 is currently in the FAA approval process. Expected any day now….There is no reason Skyview could not send or receive a flight plan from Avidyne except for the programming. It is already included in the WiFi stream. The Skyview could tune the comm radio or other functions that are currently available with the IFD100 app or Foreflight. It just takes a programmer.

Kurt
 

dougnlina

I love flying!
Joined
Mar 28, 2014
Messages
62
I have an IFD 440. For quite awhile it has been implied that Dynon and the IFD series would integrate better. At one point Dynon was said to be actively working with the Avidyne to integrate the systems. In reality it would reguire wiring, programing and utilizing a serial connection similiar to the way Dynon integrates with the SL-30. If this was ever a priority it has fallen by the wayside.

...,so
"It seems to me that with either, what you get is nav info driving the HSI via the ARINC429. What else is there?"
I dont think there is anything else, nor will there ever be....

The IFD is a great navigator but buy it for its own merits and not for any potential integration advantage.
 
Last edited:
Top