IAS to CAS

skyview_user

I love TopMeteo
Joined
Apr 4, 2016
Messages
45
Hi Dynon, is there a way to correct IAS to CAS? The wind and other computations are wrong if not....
Thanks for an answer.
 

GalinHdz

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
528
Location
KSGJ/TJBQ
There is no way to "correct" IAS for CAS in the SkyView becasue, in a well designed system, IAS and CAS should be within a few knots of each other. An error like this normally indicates a problem with the location of your pitot/static system. The problem will show up as errors in speed, winds, altitude and other calculations. This has been discussed in multiple threads with the last one happening just a few days ago.

 
Last edited:

skyview_user

I love TopMeteo
Joined
Apr 4, 2016
Messages
45
Sorry. That was not my question. My system has no errors. I only want to have correct values.
 

GalinHdz

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
528
Location
KSGJ/TJBQ
Sorry. That was not my question. My system has no errors. I only want to have correct values.
There is no IAS to CAS correction capability in SkyView, or any other name brand EFIS that I know of, because IAS and CAS should be within a few knots of each other. I hate to say this but it sounds like your system has a dynamic airflow error which makes wind, altitude and other calculations wrong. Not that uncommon with EAB aircraft. I had this same situation in my airplane.

:cool:
 
Last edited:

skyview_user

I love TopMeteo
Joined
Apr 4, 2016
Messages
45
hi dynon,
could you pls answer my question, i.e. given IAS, known CAS, how to enter the correction into SV? Thanks
 

RVDan

I love flying!
Joined
Aug 8, 2012
Messages
175
Location
Frederick, MD
If your pitot static system has no errors (not likely errors are 0) then, IAS=CAS. In a typical static system there will be < 3 kts error between the two, which in the scope of the wind calculations is small enough to be ignored. No EFIS that I am aware of allows the entry of CAS to correct IAS.
 

GalinHdz

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
528
Location
KSGJ/TJBQ
In zero wind flight, TAS will match ground speed.
Not if the pitot/static system is providing the EFIS with a wrong IAS value. In a modern EFIS, TAS is calculated based on IAS, among other variables, so a wrong IAS will give a wrong TAS. "Garbage in, garbage out."
 
Last edited:
Top