Pitot/AoA 28V

Askov

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2020
Messages
3
I’m planning on installing Dynon avionics in my Sling using a 28volt system.
It seems that Dynon heated pitot/AOA only tolerates 14V.
Is the Garmin equivalent compatible with Dynon HDX?
 

jakej

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,864
Location
Adelaide, Australia
Why not just use a DC to DC converter (24/12v) has worked for me. just get one with suitable capacity for the pitot.
 

Askov

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2020
Messages
3
You are absolutely right. But I was trying to keep the installation as simple and light as possible with fewer fail points.
 

Dynon

Dynon Staff
Staff member
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
13,700
Location
Woodinville, WA
Although the tip has a more simple shape (ours endeavors to have a pitot port that is very insensitive to AOA, and a pitot port that is very sensitive, was wind tunnel tested, etc), the basic principle of operation looks to be similar to our AOA/Pitot. We haven't tested it against our calibration routine, but it would probably work ok.
 

Askov

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2020
Messages
3
Although the tip has a more simple shape (ours endeavors to have a pitot port that is very insensitive to AOA, and a pitot port that is very sensitive, was wind tunnel tested, etc), the basic principle of operation looks to be similar to our AOA/Pitot. We haven't tested it against our calibration routine, but it would probably work ok.
Thank you for reply and information:)
Since most of your products run on both 14V and 28V why does such an essential component as the pitot/AoA not?
Are you planning on making a 28V version?
 

Dynon

Dynon Staff
Staff member
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
13,700
Location
Woodinville, WA
Originally it was because the vast majority of experimental aircraft and LSA are 12V systems. We don't currently have plans to introduce a 28V version.
 
Top