Erratic Airspeed (IAS) on HDX

pacecapt

I have a dual screen Dynon HDX system with Dynon Pitot, ADAHRS, etc. I have been flying this system for 3 years and during that time I have always had a erratic or bouncy airspeed indication (2-3 MPH up and down) while in flight. I have done all the calibration that I can with this system, in fact I have had to recalibrate it several times as for no apparent reason it will just start acting goofy when on or sitting at idle (bounces around 0 to 25 mph) and no motion of the aircraft. Any thoughts or is this normal?

GalinHdz

This is not normal. If both screens give the same erratic indication then I doubt it is with the equipment.

My initial thought; there is an issue with the Pitot or Static system. Does the altimeter and/or the VSI also bounce around at the same time? If so then the culprit is with the static line or port. If only airspeed bounces around, then the culprit is with the pitot line or probe.

Less probable is the AOA line and sensor. If you have the AOA connected, check that line too. If not connected, make sure the AOA port on the ADAHRS is closed off and not open. Good luck on finding this and let us know when you find.

pacecapt

This is not normal. If both screens give the same erratic indication then I doubt it is with the equipment.

My initial thought; there is an issue with the Pitot or Static system. Does the altimeter and/or the VSI also bounce around at the same time? If so then the culprit is with the static line or port. If only airspeed bounces around, then the culprit is with the pitot line or probe.

Less probable is the AOA line and sensor. If you have the AOA connected, check that line too. If not connected, make sure the AOA port on the ADAHRS is closed off and not open. Good luck on finding this and let us know when you find.