HDX Display Power Input Question

badia358

The Display D37 connector has two Power Input pins (1 & 20). I was planning to connect one power pin (1) to the VPX and the other pin (20) to a backup Power Bus that I would manually switch to if there are any issues with the VPX. My question is if this is the best way to supply power to the HDX Display? Plus will a single power input pin handle the current requirements for the HDX display and other subsystems that get power from the HDX display?

Thank you...

John Bright

The SkyView Display power inputs are not diode OR'd. There are two power inputs, and also two ground connections, because the D connector pins individually are not rated for the current. This is common practice across manufacturers.

Ref the SkyView System Installation Guide, "to reduce current loading in each wire — these are not for redundancy and both must be connected to the same power source"

Last edited:

JurgenRoeland

I'm quite new to all electrical component wiring and to the point to connect the skyview hdx to the vpx 12-9. I also read the remark in the manual on D37 saying "There are two unterminated solid red primary power input wires (to reduce current loading in each wire—these are not for redundancy and both must be connected to the same power source) and two unterminated solid black primary ground wires."

How do you get these 2 wires together in the vpx ? Do you use a butt splice connector just in front of the vpx power pin 12-9 and feed a single wire in the power pin or should I crimp both wires together in the vpx power pin if that's physically possible ? As they are talking about power distribution I assume the splicing is not a wise decision as it's brought back to a single wire feeding into the vpx.

Sorry for the probably very stupid question but I'm very new to all this. I have the VPX-PRO

Rhino