Ammeter Reading

tebannon

I love flying!
The ammeter reading has never worked properly since my D1000 was professionally installed two years ago. Wiring has been checked, fuses verified and a lot of head scratching has taken place. He's given up. The unit will sometimes read numbers up to 99A before it "X"s out on me. I'm pretty sure my alternator is not that big and being an amateur I have no clue what to do to get it right. I would kind of like to know if I am facing an imminent electrical failure. Anybody got a solution for me?

dynonsupport

Dynon Technical Support
Staff member
Contact Dynon Avionics Technical Support - 425-402-0433 to obtain a Return Material Authorization (RMA) to have your SV-EMS-220 module checked and likely repaired.

The ammeter reading has never worked properly since my D1000 was professionally installed two years ago. Wiring has been checked, fuses verified and a lot of head scratching has taken place. He's given up. The unit will sometimes read numbers up to 99A before it "X"s out on me. I'm pretty sure my alternator is not that big and being an amateur I have no clue what to do to get it right. I would kind of like to know if I am facing an imminent electrical failure. Anybody got a solution for me?

tebannon

I love flying!
Is there no onboard diagnostics that can be performed? Something that I can direct my installer to? Removing that module will ground me for a long time.

dynonsupport

Dynon Technical Support
Staff member
The quickest and most reliable test you can do is to unplug the D37 connector from the EMS module and short out pins 25 24 and 25 on the EMS. When you do this, the amps should read zero.

If they do read zero, you have a wiring issue. If they don't read zero, your EMS is broken.

tebannon

I love flying!
We ran the recommended test and it strangely read zero regardless. My electronics tech decided to try another shunt and that solved the problem. Replaced the shunt and now the ammeter is reading correctly.