oil temp fluctuation

Roger_Lee

Dynon,

I have a D120 wit a Rotax 912ULS. All my temps and pressures are fairly solid and steady in their readings, but the oil temp. The wires are snug and this seems to be a problem for many people. Is there a way or solution to make the oil temps more steady. They fluctuate as much as 20F. This seems to be more in high rpm range than when at the lower rpms down around idel range.

airguy

It would be very unusual indeed for ACTUAL oil temperatures to be fluctuating that much - I would start by checking for a good ground path between the connection and your battery, and good wiring for the powered side. If you have an "iffy" ground strap somewhere on the airframe you will develop a "floating ground" that will drive sensors nuts.

Roger_Lee

Hi Airguy,

All grounds are very tight. This is a problem on most Flight design CT's and many other aircraft. I would like to find a solution if one can be had for the many. I'm an LSRM-A mechanic and work on many LSA with Dynon's and many have the same issue on the oil temp. I know it isn't a real problem, but can cause the alarms to go off when you are a little high with it bouncing 15F-20F. There must be something to put in line to stabilize the reading.

dynonsupport

Dynon Technical Support
Staff member
As others have said, that does sound like a grounding or actual sensor issue.

Roger_Lee

I'll add a separate ground wire right to the battery for a test and get back to you all.
Or I can go from the single pole VDO oil pressure sender to a duel poll with a separate ground wire.
I'll let you know.

dynonsupport

Dynon Technical Support
Staff member
Note that adding a small wire from the sensor to the battery won't make a difference. The solution to grounding issues is a VERY big, solid wire that's run from the engine block to the battery.

Roger_Lee

Hi Dynon,