Transponder Serial Number?

sunfish

I love flying!
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
163
Winding if there is a software readout of the transponder serial number somewhere in the setup dialogues. I need it for registration and it’s going to be two hours work to get at it under the seat to read the label. Yes, I should have recorded it. :p
 

RV8JD

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2017
Messages
101
Location
WA State
It's not on the main Transponder Setup Page (shown below), but maybe somewhere else?

 
Last edited:

swatson999

Active Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2010
Messages
1,215
You need the *serial* number of a XPDR for *registration*? That seems...odd.

That being said, I have a complete list of the serials numbers of everything on or in the plane that *has* a serial number. Same goes for all my tools. But then, I'm a bit anal. It did come in handy, though, when both of my Bose A-20s got stolen while on vacation a few years back...insurance ponied right up since I had all that info.
 

sunfish

I love flying!
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
163
Sadly, I’ve lost that box. The S/n may be on the invoice, otherwise it’s get out the spanner. I’ve already checked my build log. Yes, registration people here want serials, model numbers of everything :p
 

swatson999

Active Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2010
Messages
1,215
Sadly, I’ve lost that box. The S/n may be on the invoice, otherwise it’s get out the spanner. I’ve already checked my build log. Yes, registration people here want serials, model numbers of everything :p

Where are you located? That's a bummer that you have to do that, but you can add it to the list you're making (right?) of all the serialized items on the plane :) FWIW, I have around 50 items on my list for the airplane, not including tools and other items.
 

jakej

Active Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
1,829
Location
Adelaide, Australia
Yes, serial number is on the invoice normally.
just out of curiosity - who wants that info ? SAAA, CASA ? Model & part number I can understand but requiring serial is something Ive not come across.
 

Dynon

Dynon Staff
Staff member
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
13,642
Location
Woodinville, WA
I don't think it's in software, unfortunately. It's on the unit for sure (though I know that may be a pain to get to). We may be able to help as well. We have shipping records, but that would only be useful if you bought directly from us or from someone that we don't ship to in quantity.
 

jnmeade

Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2011
Messages
200
I'm sorry to hear of your challenge. Sometimes a cell phone camera (even shooting "blind") or borescope or even a mirror on a stick has helped me.
 

swatson999

Active Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2010
Messages
1,215
So what happens if your XPDR fails and has to be replaced? Does your aircraft become legally unairworthy?
 

sunfish

I love flying!
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
163
If it fails you are still airworthy but you are restricted in airspace type to G.
 

sunfish

I love flying!
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
163
Getting a mirror in, or transponder replacement requires seat removal, it’s no big deal, just tedious, hence my query.
 

jethound

Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
45
Where did you buy the unit. They have the serial number on their paperwork. If bought from Dynon they have it too,
 
Top