No top line ZULU or LOCAL time on recent flight

BMW_X6M

RV-9A O-320 Catto Prop. Dual HDX, ADSB GTN650
Joined
Jun 6, 2012
Messages
87
Location
Santa Monica, California
I have dual HDX displays using the old Dynon GPS receiver.
This past weekend I had no top line time on either display. I checked that the reception of the GPS was good. This is the first time I have ever seen this issue in over six years of flying.
 

Dynon

Dynon Staff
Staff member
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
13,875
Location
Woodinville, WA
Yes, please contact our support team. We believe some early GPS receivers are affected by the GPS rollover that recently occurred.
 

BMW_X6M

RV-9A O-320 Catto Prop. Dual HDX, ADSB GTN650
Joined
Jun 6, 2012
Messages
87
Location
Santa Monica, California
I talked to tech support today.  A software fix will be issued for those of us using the very early (before 2012) 250 GPS receivers.

Also the new SkyView software update will be released soon.
 

djones

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2010
Messages
173
I do have the software fix for the GPS rollover issue now available.
If you have this issue e-mail support and we will give you a link to the software.
 
W

William_Ince

Guest
I do have the software fix for the GPS rollover issue now available.
If you have this issue e-mail support and we will give you a link to the software.
Don,

Does that anomaly just apply to HDX? Or Classic also?

If it is applicable to Classic, I will need the patch also.
 

Dynon

Dynon Staff
Staff member
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
13,875
Location
Woodinville, WA
It applies to all SkyView systems. It depends on the GPS receiver you have, not the model of SkyView.
 

AlanR

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
167
Location
UK
Mine was purchased in 2015 and was affected.
The software fix soon sorted it and everything is now back to normal. :)
Thanks Dynon for the quick response to the issue!
 

djones

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2010
Messages
173
Just to clarify, this only is affecting SV-GPS-250 receiver / antenna units that were manufactured before the 2012 / 2013 time frame.  Later 250's are not affected, nor is the 2020.
 

GalinHdz

Active Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
636
Location
KSGJ/TJBQ
Just to clarify, this only is affecting SV-GPS-250 receiver / antenna units that were manufactured in the 2012 / 2013 time frame.  Later 250's are not affected, nor is the 2020.
Aww cr__p, you just described my unit. Time to contact Customer Support.

:(
 

Raymo

I love aviation!
Joined
Apr 25, 2016
Messages
1,037
Location
Richmond Hill, GA
I have both units (250 for backup). Will the fix be included in the next software update? I can wait for it since the 2020 is my primary GPS.
 

djones

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2010
Messages
173
I have both units (250 for backup). Will the fix be included in the next software update? I can wait for it since the 2020 is my primary GPS.

It will be in the next version as well as future versions going forward.
 

GalinHdz

Active Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
636
Location
KSGJ/TJBQ
Just for clarity, the software upgrade is for the SkyView system so those of us that have 2 screens must upgrade each screen individually.

:cool:
 

henryhallam

Lancair 360 with SV-D1000 and SV-D700
Joined
Oct 18, 2016
Messages
18
Location
KEMT
My Skyview Classic + SV-GPS-250 system is suffering from this GPS Week rollover issue. Does the 15.3.5 update that was released yesterday contain the fix or should I contact support separately?
 

thibault

Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
189
One of my classic screens has this problem.   The other shows the time. I have one of the old GPS250 units.

Is this the same problem described above?
 

preid

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
734
Location
SoCal
Tom- yes I see the same- but if you were to pull the data logs you would see that neither really are getting the time/date info.
I had no issue on May 2nd on a flight, today however I have the same issue?? One Display has the local system time- GPS shows everything, serial 5 shows RX hits and good with no errors on both displays- everything in navigation works but then when I pulled the data logs for the flight I see "UNKNOWN_DATE_TIME" on both displays.
I confirmed I have 15.4.3.5287, in Network setup.
Another strange behavior, no idea why, but there is sporadic voice warnings for engine, altitude, etc.. all work flawlessly on last flight.
Support- I pulled all the data I could if a diagnostic file is needed.
I'll follow-up with a call to support on Monday- but not sure if I am the only one having this issue after the upgrade?
Thank you!
 
Top